Category Archives: Single Track

R.I.P. Black Trip / Arise! VOJD – New Music Coming

Earlier this year Black Trip announced the friendly departure and replacement of their drummer, Jonas Wikstrand, with Anders Bentell. Moving forward with new music and the new lineup, they subsequently changed the band’s name to VOJD and released a great new song called “Into the Void/Heavy Skies.”

HRR_594_Cover_Single.inddFinally, there’s confirmation of new music with their “Behind the Frame 7” that’ll be released on December 8th through High Roller Records. The 7” holds two brand new exclusive recordings that will not be found on their new full-length album after the first of the year. Singer/bassist Joseph Toll comments on the songs: “’Behind The Frame’ was the last song we wrote and it was intended to be part of the album. However, as we decided to make an external single, we thought this song would be great as the A-side. The B-side ‘Funeral Empire’ is a cover of a band called Tempest. These two songs are totally exclusive. We have more material that we might do the same thing with in the near future.”

With regard to “Into the Void/Heavy Skies,” Joseph elaborates “We wanted to put something out during the transition between Black Trip and VOJD. This is a song we’ve had laying around as an idea since a couple of years back. The album contains a re-recorded version of this song.”

You can listen “Into the Void/Heavy Skies” on the playlist below, along with a few choice Black Trip tunes. Pre-orders for “Behind the Frame” can be made here. More on the upcoming LP to come. Make sure to keep looking in for any updates, info, music, etc.

VOJD Lineup:
Peter Stjärnvind – Lead guitar
Joseph Tholl – Bass and lead vocals
Linus Björklund – Lead guitar
Anders Bentell – Drums and percussion


Starcrawler Reveals a New Song with Video

450x450bb (1)If you know about Starcrawler, consider yourself a fan of the limited quantity of material available, and are chomping at the bit for more, you’re not alone. I am as well. But there’s a nice surprise from Starcrawler and Rough Trade.

Running through a small handful of gigs on the east coast working up to the MELTASIA Festival in the Catskills in New York state. It’ll be the first time playing out this way, so they’re sharing a new video for a new track entitled “Let Her Be,” which you can see just below. In a post on the band’s website they say that the new track is indeed the first cut from the new LP. Click on the link above or image above to purchase the new song digitally.

The video’s director, J. Casey Modderno, described his vision for the video:

“Starcrawler has an amazing live presence, and one of the first things I noticed was the almost demonic energy that Arrow has on stage – crabwalking, spitting blood…. so we just decided to run with that concept which we already saw in their live show, that when Starcrawler performs, Arrow becomes possessed by literal demons. We wanted to showcase what we already loved in Starcrawler’s live shows, a super visceral and physical performance, full of energy, motion, and tons of fun.”

There’s still not a lot of info about the Ryan Adams-produced full-length release. The persistent curiosity and anticipation is growing steadily. When can we get a whole album, already?! Until the day comes you can dig the tracks on the playlist below. You can check Starcrawler out on Facebook, here.

NEW SONG: IGGY POP “Asshole Blues”

IMG_38401Brand New from Iggy Pop, “Asshole Blues.”

It’s just been a year since the release of one of his best albums in recent memory, ‘Post Pop Depression’, and now comes to us with one more cool new cut to keep things sweet. Taking things back to his earliest musical roots, “Asshole Blues” is a DIY recording of Iggy and his guitar making music like they did down in the southern Delta the better part of a hundred years ago. His voice was meant for this kind of music.

In 2015, Miami band Jacuzzi Boys started their own record label, Mag Mag, with the primary purpose of releasing their own music. Now, just a few years later, on April 21, 2017, Mag Mag will launch a new flexi-disc series, beginning with the release of “Asshole Blues,” a brand new single from legendary punk icon, Iggy Pop, who for the last few years has been a strong supporter and friend of the Jacuzzi Boys.

“Asshole Blues” is available for pre-order today and can be heard below. Other releases in the flexi series are pending and will be announced soon.