Operation Ivy’s Jesse Michaels Gets A Throbblehead!

211_162785Lead singer of the legendary ska-punk band Operation Ivy, Jesse Michaels, will be the most recent addition the Aggronautix Throbblehead family. He joins the illustrious club whose membership includes that of Milo Auckerman, Wendy O. Williams, Lee Ving, Bobby Liebling, GG Allin, Mark Arm, Joey Shithead, Iggy Pop, Debbie Harry, the Dwarves, and scads more.

Limited to 1000 hand-numbered units, Throbblehead Jesse stands at 7” tall. He’ll be made of a lightweight polyresin, which is surprisingly sturdy and durable.

211_001487You can see from the accompanying images that his likeness is captured impeccably and frozen in what is arguably a better time. The box is full color and a whole other work of art in itself. The box art is done by Marco Palumbo of No Front Teeth Records.
Orders are supposed to ship sometime during the latter part of summer. Pre-orders can be made now, though, by clicking here.

For orders outside of the United States, please note that items will take longer to arrive (average of 3 weeks) and there is no tracking available w/o upgrade to an expedited shipping method (between $10 and $30).


While we’re talking about Op Ivy, be sure to read up on all of the provided information available below about ‘Arcane Drama’, a new compilation of band’s that hail from the fabled 924 Gilman St. scene.

Arcane Drama‘: A Compilation of 924 Gilman Street Music, Volume 1 captures a snapshot in 2016 of the diverse group of bands that call 924 Gilman home. Founded in 1986, the all ages, volunteer-run community space and underground music venue at 924 Gilman Street in Berkeley, California, (affectionately called, simply, “Gilman”) has been the home and starting point for some of the largest national punk acts in the last 30 years. Today, the venue holds the title for being the longest running DIY music venue in the country. Even after three decades, the scene around Gilman is a hotbed for up and coming artists across many subgenres of alternative and punk music. This compilation has something for almost every alternative music fan: fast old-school hardcore, ska, indie-influenced punk, folkpunk, pop-punk and much more. This will be the first of several compilations to document the diverse and exciting underground music coming out of the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern California.

212_029509The record opens with two fast-paced hardcore-style songs: the serious and political “The Betrayal” from up and coming hardcore band PUBLIC SAFETY and the upbeat and fun “D” from scene veterans (and Queen punk baby) THE LOVE SONGS. From there, the record takes a melodic turn with songs from three different but equally talented acts: the introspective “Tides II” from SARCHASM, pop punk anthem “Binge” from DECENT CRIMINAL, and the folk punk musing of “Siren Sigh” from DANDELION MASSACRE. The end of Side A gives the listener an introduction to the thriving skareggae scene at 924 Gilman with teenage (we mean still in high school) SKANK BANK’s steady instrumental “Real Rock Riddim” and the hip hop influenced “Smile” from the talented and eclectic CROWD 9. Side B of the compilation opens with the three heaviest-hitting bands of the group: legendary Bay Area mariachi-punk band LA PLEBE’s beloved “Siempre Unidos.” “Johnny Hit and Run Jenny” by THE PATHOGENS, a new band featuring the vocal talents of Jesse Luscious of BLATZ/THE CRIMINALS and Cinder Block of TILT; and “Box of Handkerchiefs” by Sacramento’s DOG PARTY, who are fresh off their tour with GREEN DAY. The next two tracks go back into hardcore with the emotive blitz-speed “Coffin Nail” by street punk band HEARTLESS FOLK and the teenage angst (by four non-teenagers) of CRONANDER’s “Trapped.” The compilation finishes with two 924 Gilman mainstays. DEMI AND THE GODS, Gilman’s teenage favorites, debut a new song (with an old punk sound) “Owe the Night.” The grand finale is Gilman Ska Night headliner DAY LABOR, with their extremely dance-able track “Bandito.” The roller coaster of sub-genres gives the listener the experience” of a 924 Gilman regular.

Click on the album art to order!


Track Listing
PUBLIC SAFETY – “The Betrayal”
SKANK BANK – “Real Rock Riddim”
CROWD 9 – “Smile”
LA PLEBE – “Siempre Unidos”
THE PATHOGENS – “Johnny Hit and Run Jenny”
DOG PARTY – “Box of Handkerchiefs”
HEARTLESS FOLK – “Coffin Nail”
CRONANDER – “Trapped”
DEMI AND THE GODS – “Owe the Night”
DAY LABOR – “Bandito”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s