Municipal Waste Announces First New LP in Five Years


It’s been a long wait for Municipal Waste fans, but that wait is almost over. After a half of a decade, Municipal Waste has officially announced the release of their sixth studio LP. ‘Slime and Punishment’, their first new full-length since 2012’s ‘The Fatal Feast’. Due out on June 23 via Nuclear Blast Records, ‘Slime and Punishment’ boasts a relentless barrage of 14 tracks in just over 24 face-shredding minutes. Check out the first released new track, “Amateur Sketch,” now!

Over the last few years several of the guys have occupied themselves in a various other successful projects, including guitarist Ryan Waste, who took some time to talk about the Waste, the new album and a few related activities that include 40 dates across North America as a part of the Vans Warped Tour 2017.

From the outside looking in, it might’ve seemed a bit dormant within the Municipal Waste camp. That’s not the case at all. Ryan says that the band has been working on follow-up material essentially since the primary touring cycle had ceased for that album. “We’ve been at it off and on for most of that time, we just hadn’t really hit a stride so a lot of material got scrapped,” he says. “You don’t want to just put something out there just because a you want to hurry up with a new album. You want to be inspired so you can be happy with it.”

If you’ve seen Waste live over the past year or so, you know that the addition of second guitarist, and long-time friend of the band, Nick ‘Nikropolis’ Poulos (ex-Cannabis Corpse, Volture, BAT) ups the ante in their attack. “Nick’s definitely had input in writing this new material,” Ryan explains. “It’s cool because we can get everybody in the room and work out ideas together. Everybody has a say in it.”

Municipal Waste has officially signed on to be a part of 2017’s Vans Warped Tour. The traveling festival begins on June 16 in Seattle, WA and wraps in Laminate, CA on August 6. After that, Waste heads over to England to participate in the annual Bloodstock Open Air festival in the U.K. for a slot on the ‘Ronnie James Dio’ stage on August 12.

Check back in regularly for additional info, updates, interviews, etc. As always, you can visit the official Municipal Waste website for comprehensive band information.

95784f45-c82e-4158-8d48-aa70c45857f4 ‘SLIME AND PUNISHMENT’ Track List

1. Breathe Grease
2. Enjoy The Night
3. Dingy Situations
4. Shrednecks
5. Poison The Preacher
6. Bourbon Discipline
7. Parole Violators
8. Slime And Punishment
9. Amateur Sketch
10. Excessive Celebration
11. Low Tolerance
12. Under The Waste Command
13. Death Proof
14. Think Fast

‘Slime And Punishment’ is the first Waste album to be engineered by bassist Phil “Landphil” Hall at Blaze of Torment Studios in Richmond, VA. Mixing and mastering was completed by Bill Metoyer (SLAYER, W.A.S.P., LIZZY BORDEN and DARK ANGEL) in Hollywood, CA.

The cover artwork for the sixth album was created by the bands good friend, Andrei Bouzikov. This is the fourth cover he has created for them as he was responsible for the art for Massive Aggressive, The Art Of Partying, and the split with TOXIC HOLOCAUST – Toxic Waste.

The album will be available in the following formats:
CD Jewel
Green with Yellow Splatter Vinyl (Limited to 500 worldwide)
Bottle Green Vinyl (Limited to 2300 worldwide)
Lunch Box Edition: includes CD jewel + T-shirt + Enamel Pin + Sports Bottle + Metal Lunch Box (Limited to 250 worldwide)
Green Cassette (Limited to 350 worldwide)
Pre-order Slime And Punishment in the format of your choice here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s